Newb please be nice, looking for advice!

Username: Animals_as_leaders

Post Number: 1
Alright everyone, I need some help...

This is my first post on this forum, so please be nice lol. I'm a newb to car audio so gimme a break. I went out yesterday and bought some speakers for my g/f's 2001 Mustang. They are Kenwood KFC-6993ps 6x9's. http://www.bestbuy.com/site/Sony+-+52W+x+4+Apple%26%23174;+iPod%26%23174;-/Satel lite+Radio-/HD+Radio-Ready+In-Dash+CD+Deck/1149996.p?id=1218225366356&skuId=1149 996 < thats my stereo. I have the 6x9's powered by an old sony 1000watt amp I had lying around. Don't really know details with amp, got it for 10 bucks and works. After installing, I wasn't pleased with the sound...The fronts are still stock and I am assuming this is the culprit. I can't seem to get a good EQ for the setup no matter what I do. I listen to heavy rock music that has a lot of double bass and is pretty demanding so I would like to fix it somehow...

I was thinking of buying a 10in kicker for the back, and upgrading the fronts. I'm thinking that I am trying to get to much out of the 6x9. Their very clear though, so I think with a sub and some fronts I'll be able to get some more low end. I'm not looking to make CRAZY amounts of bass just enough to deliver a nice punch. I want to hear my 808 hits, and I want the double bass to be nice and clear. Right now it depends a lot on the mix of the song, and its really annoying. So what can I do to achieve decent punchy bass? And, if I get front speakers will they need to be amped or can I get away with powering them from the head unit?

Platinum Member
Username: Glasswolf

Post Number: 14120
my suggestions:

return the stuff you bought.

look at an entry level alpine or pioneer head unit with 3 sets of pre-outs (RCA lines, front/rear/sub)

(your links are broken)

buy a pair of Alpine type R 6x9s for the rear