Help...Amp/speakers cut in and out!!!

Username: Sr68790

New York, NY

Post Number: 2
Hey folks, i am new to this discussion board thing...I have a 2007 Ford Mustang, i installed an Alpine W205 head unit up front, i have Alpine SPR-57LS 5x7/6x8 component speakers up front, and momo/polk 6x9's in the rear deck, these speakers are connected to an alpine pdx 4.100 4 channel amp, my subs are two 10 inch alpine type e's connected directly to a sony xm gtr-2022 2 channel amp, i am also running a clarion equalizer off the rca's from head unit, and a clarion mcd360 crossover off of the rca's from the equalizer, my amps' rca's are run off of this crossover, all of this is connected to a rockford fosgate 1 farad capacitor all wired up with 4 gauge power and ground wire connected to 4 gauge => 8 gauge power wire/ ground wire splitters, the bass amp and subs work fine, but when im driving or sitting in the driveway with the music on, sometimes my driver side speakers cut out in the front and the back but the passenger side speakers stay on, other times all 4 speakers cut out and just the bass plays, other times ill hear the speakers struggling to play, they have a type of crackling noise, then other times both subs and speakers stop playing, and sometimes everything plays correctly and sounds awesome, i know it is not the amp because i had an older alpine mrp-f300 4 channel running the speakers, and i know its not the speakers because these are 4 brand new speakers and the old ones used to have the same problem. Could this be because i do not have a big enough capacitor or maybe its a ground problem or maybe i need bigger power wires and splitters. All of my rca's and speaker wire connections are good and none of them are cut or messed up, as ive rewired the system about a week ago and the same problems keep happening.

Gold Member
Username: Dustin3

D&L Audio Tech.Dustin

Post Number: 4997