Portable or indash?

Bronze Member
Username: Aj1218

Post Number: 63
Hello everyone. I am a total newbie to GPS systems and have a few questions about them. I am pretty sure the portable systems are cheaper than indash ones. But, I am planning on switching out my old headunit in my 2003 Chevy Impala also. My budget is no more than $400 so would it be better to get portable or indash? Reccomendations of different types of GPS systems would be helpful. Thank you

Bronze Member
Username: Aj1218

Post Number: 64
With only $400 to spend I guess the more wise decision would be to go portable. Can anyone give me recommendations on good portable GPS systems? All I am looking for is the U.S. version that is upgradeable. Thanks

Username: Theinstaller

Post Number: 4
I have the pioneer n2 in my hummer, and I never turn it on thanks to owning a garmin hand held. it is so much better plus being able to take it the old ladys car with me and on trips is great.

Username: Lovelybluesky

Post Number: 2
even with only 400 you can also get a decent in dash player on our website
http://www.autocarplaza.com/

Username: Iwantitall

Post Number: 2
if you like switching your head unit out each time new technology is released then i would say stick with head units. but you must consider how hard it is to upgrade maps on head units and generally they are not support very much by dealers or the ppl who sell them. most of them are there today and gone tomorrow, if you know what i mean.
anyways, that is a concern that you might want to deal with.
you might also want to consider the cost. head units are always so expensive...