¤- Can this be done???????? -¤ (i am a genius if it can)

Anonymous

I just started learning about car audio and i am not good with terms or anything BUTTTT, would a person be able to bridge (i think that is the term) 3 of the head units speaker wires to power 1 small sub and use the 4th speaker wire to power a tweater?

...My head unit kicks out 25watt rms x 4, so that would be like 75w rms for the sub and 25w for the tweeter.

WILL IT WORK???????? I don't see why it wouldn't but i am sure i will be proven wrong. Thnx for your inputs

Bronze Member
Username: Dominirica012

Charlotte, North Carolina US

Post Number: 90
i think it would work for the tweeter but i doubt it would work for the subwoofer and even if it did you would have words coming out the subwoofer because you wouldn't be able to set it on LPF

Anonymous

wuw, wut is LPF?

Silver Member
Username: Illuminator

Post Number: 688
The headunit speaker wires cannot be bridged without causing damage to the headunit. I would attempt to describe why it can't be done, but it's complicated, heh heh, maybe someone else could do a better job at that.

LPF=Low Pass Filter

Silver Member
Username: Geekbike

Post Number: 217
It's easier just to hand out a link then to explain it.

http://www.bcae1.com/brighead.htm

Anonymous

whats the difference between a mono amplifier and a normal amplifier

Silver Member
Username: Illuminator

Post Number: 691
Great link, Knack! Forgot that bcae had a section about that!

And to answer your question: Mono consists of only one channel of output power.

Anonymous

lol, just for the record, that last Anonymous post wasn't me.

Username: Zer0

King, Cali USA

Post Number: 4
i think that attempting to bridge a head unit is not a good idea to say the least, if you care about it anyway.. my advice to you is pick up a cheap 200W amp and push that sub it should push around 100w RMS if its worth anything (amp)