Subs to go with a JBL BP 1200.1?

Username: Kegkilla

Post Number: 1
Hey ya'll, nice board you got here, I'm basically new to the science of Car Audio but I've been reading up on it and I'm starting to figure this all out. I'm planning on putting 2 subs and an amp in my car over Christmas break. I'm leaning towards going with the very reasonably priced JBL BP 1200.1 (if I can find it...it doesn't seem to be listed on CarDomain.com anymore, or anywhere else for that matter, looks like I missed the boat on that one, if I can't find it then I'd probably go with the GTO 1201.1).

Anyway, I'll have 1200 watts to power my subs with, and I'm looking for input on what kind of subs to go with. I'm on somewhat of a budget, and since I'm already looking to break the bank on the amp, I was considering going with two Kenwood KFC-W2509. Heres where I need some help, as I'm not very good with all this electric wiring business. The subs run at 350 RMS, the amp is capable of putting out 1200 watts at 2 ohms, 600 watts at 4 ohms, so if I wired 2 of these subs at 4 ohms, they would be receiving 300 watts each, correct? Are these numbers correct? Would this be an ample amount of power to the subs? Any comments, advice or suggestions would be appreciated.

Silver Member
Username: Carguy

Post Number: 634
Hey Chris, JBL BP1200.1 isn't the only amp that can deliver 1200W. Have you seen RF T10001BD? It is a much better amp compared to JBL. Go download their pdf file and compare the specs.
Why are you interested in Kenwood subs? They're ok, not the best for your money. The watts you're talking about isn't much when it comes to subs. You need 500W rms or higher. Check out Kicker subs.