SPDIF connecting 5.1 to notebook?

Zenmaster
Unregistered guest
Hey guys

I bought this notebook yesterday and I want to connect my creative 5.1 sound system to it, which needs three audio jacks (line in, mic, headph). However the notebook only appears to have 2 plugs (mic In, headphones Out). It does state however, that with a 'SPDIF digital audio out' adapter, 6-way sound is possible.

Anyway, I am not very good at this. So what does this mean? Is there some sort of adapter that I can plug in into my headphones, which gives me an extra audio jack? Or should I take the screwdriver and open it up and implement this 'SPDIF adapter'?

I really have no idea what to do here..

Username: Aspigler

Post Number: 3
SPDIF is an abbrevation of Sony/Phillips Digital interface. It allows the dvd audio signal from the dvd playing in the computer disk drive to pass thru (through an optical or some also have a coaxial connection) into your external receiver (for example). The receiver can then be hooked up to a regular 5.1 speaker set.

The best thing probably would be to just get a 5.1 soundcard installed in your notebook, which will give you the three outputs you need in order to hook up your creative 5.1 sound system.

Unregistered guest
hey guys,

i bought sonic gear 5.1 room theatre system speakers (1 sub woofer and 5 front, center and rear units) yesterday. how can i connect them to my acer 1682WLMIi notebook as it has only 3 audio jacks (2 line in and 1 line out). i had no trouble with 2.1 speakers..but how do i hook these 5.1's up?

thanks for all hte help in advance.

Post Number: 6
you need to get a 5.1 sound card and install it on your notebook. There are many out there just search on the internet as cheap as $15

Anonymous

None Of You People know what you're doing! You're all a bunch of Jackasses!

Post Number: 7
Wow, thanks that was really constructive and helpful, anonymous.

internetreader
Unregistered guest