Need some help(Recommendation)

Silver Member
Username: Jtown

ATX, Texas

Post Number: 710
Hey guys, I know nothing when it comes to cameras.

My girl wants to get a Sony DSCH3 Cybershot 8.1, I've been trying to tell her that Sony is sheit besides TVs, but she doesn't believe me. She is set on getting this for xmas, from her parents.

Can anyone give me any alternatives for about the same price, higher quality, more efficient, maybe cheaper?

Thanks.

Bump for Help

Platinum Member
Username: Wingmanalive

A pic is worth 1000 posts!!

Post Number: 11004
I'm not experienced with sony cams but I've had Panasonic, Kodak, and Nikon. Hands down the Nikon was my best camera. I have the 7 megapixel coolpix 6. I LOVE it. Also has great video capture. Paired up with a 2 gig SD card and I'm set.

If I had to start somewhere it would definitely be with Nikon.

My two pennies.

Silver Member

ATX, Texas

Post Number: 711
Always out to help, thanks for your two pennies Paul

Silver Member

ATX, Texas

Post Number: 712
unfortunately though, she is looking to get a digital/manual camera, or what ever the official name is, the kind that look like 35mm but are digital and have a screen and what not.

Silver Member
Username: Serniter

Piscataway, New Jersey USA

Post Number: 177
Canon S3 IS or Canon S5 IS...

...depending on how much you want to spend.

There are a LOT of super-zoom cameras available. If you want to read more, try:

http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/default.asp?view=rating
http://www.digitalcamerainfo.com/ratings.php

I've seen some excellent pictures taken with Nikon cameras. Make sure, though, that the model you pick up is fast.

Platinum Member

Post Number: 11006
Ahhh.......I think I know what she wants. Yeah those ARE expensive.

I still throw Nikon out there though. Just....cause.

Berny would be all over this. Not Bernymac but Berny. He's like the camera god here lol. Playing in the sand overseas right now.

Silver Member

Post Number: 178