Hi I m new to the forum and I have read alot of the problems with the
D70/D70s. First alot of you photographers should always follow these
rules: Have a spare set of batteries, spare card for your digital and
if you are on a job a spare camera! I am not a professional per say I
have had about a dozen paying jobs weddings parties. Until a year ago
I used a Nikon N5005 and a Nikon F90x and always had spare batteries
and lots of film. As I gave my son my 5005 I mainly use my D70 but
always have my 90x as a spare. My 76 yr old dad is on his 3rd digital
nikon(he went over to a panasonic 1x) he now has a D80 He had 2 coolpix previously. I m a 4th generation photography
buff.
Well here is my problem - When I take a flash photo now a third of
the picture (the bottom) is black - hopefully I am solving the problem by charging the battery. I have yet to purchase new CR2 batteries. It
also it happens when I attach my sb28 flash.
When the flash is not on the photo comes out fine. I have taken close to 4000 pics (my boyfriend surfs and I live part-time in the Azores on a sailboat). I keep it out of the sub zero temps here in upstate New York and also keep it in a waterproof camera case. Another question
how the heck do i update the firmware? Do I use the usb cable to download it into the camera? Thanks for your help.

Platinum Member
Username: Project6

Post Number: 12618
The SB28 is not compatible with the D70. It will work but you have to set it manually. 1/3 of your pictures being black could be a result of lens shadowing. Or you have sync problems with the sb28.

As far as updating the firmware, go to the nikonusa website and follow the instructions to the letter.

Username: Babsalua

Post Number: 4