Need DSLR advice

Username: Seeemeeego

New Orleans, LA

Post Number: 1
Experts, I need your help. I am a high school journalism teacher looking to buy a digital for shooting pix for the school yearbook - from portrait type shots of award winners to sporting events to candids on the playground or in the basketball gym.

I have several point & shoot digitals, but I need distance and better flash options. I was a pretty good amateur in the old days with my film SLRs so I feel I need the features of those cameras with the "no film" and editing capabilities of a digital, hence my thoughts of a DSLR.

I have looked at the Nikon D70 - would either of those be good for my situation? What would some of you recommend? And what lens or lenses?

Stumbled upon this forum looking for comparisons of D70 vs D50, so thanks in advance for letting me butt in!

Gold Member
Username: Project6

Post Number: 7379
Either camera will work for your situation.

New Orleans, LA

Post Number: 2
Can you give me a suggestion for a lens that would cover my needs? What about the Nikon 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G ED AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor Lens? I have access to one of these.

Also, got any ideas on an inexpensive bounce flash that would work with this setup?

Thanks for your input and advice.

Gold Member

Post Number: 7383
The 18-55 is a great lens but will be lacking for the type of photographs you intend on shooting. Take a look at the Nikon 18-200 VR, it is consumer grade but will be very versatile in the areas you want.

Flash work is very difficult in sporting events and calls for a better and faster and oh so very expensive lens, but I suggest that you spend the money on the Nikon SB-800 Speedlight when the need for a flash arises. Unfortunately it does not come cheap.

New Orleans, LA

Post Number: 3
Ouch! The Nikon 18-200 VR is a thousand dollar lens if I'm looking at the right one. No can do in this situation. Got to find something cheaper or something used.

New Orleans, LA

Post Number: 4