Best canon compact camera

marget
Unregistered guest
hi,
I want to know which is best deal of canon compact camera? I am a beginner and first timer in buying a digital camera. Resolution above 4 is ok by me.
the only criterias are red eye reduction, easy to use, good battery life,digital zoom and excellent photo quality which can be printed in 8 by 10 paper size.
please help me in choosing the right camera. I saw couple of them. Canon 400, 450,750. well am really a blank case in this.
can anyone help me in this.
regards

Gold Member
Username: Project6

Post Number: 4526
Canon SD 450. Good battery but not at all that great, but it is a good compromise with all the features you want and takes great quality pictures. The 750 is nice but the price jump I feel is not justified over the 450. The 8 x 10 print is good on both the 450 and 750 a little better on the 750 but again not justified over the price jump.

Silver Member
Username: Claudermilk

Post Number: 253
For point & shoot battery life will be ok at best. Digital zoom is worse than worthless IMHO, your picture is guaranteed to be very soft. I have it locked out on my P&S. I would assume all have red eye now.

Of those three, I agree with Berny, the 450 looks like the best set of features. All of them are more than good enough for 8x10 prints (my 3.2MP is good enough & I've done 8x42 panos off it).

marget
Unregistered guest
what at the battery life of sd450? some reviews said its not good? do i have to buy another battery or is it rechargeble?
Berney, which is better camera than 450. i may have missed few names in the list?

chris, what is IMHO? do u mean that the pics wont be great?? then whats the point buying?

Gold Member

Post Number: 4532
Unfortunately the battery life of the SD 450 is actually average, which means the batteries do not last too long, they die very quickly specially if you are using the lcd monitor. Carry a spare during your trips and have a charger handy. And yes they are rechargeable.