Sony DSC-P8 Problem

Unregistered guest
When I turn my camera on, I can get the set up screen and the screen which shows images which I have previously taken. The other modes on the dial, when displayed, show a totally black screen. My lens does not pick up images which I would like to take a picture of. I need help!

jacobs4
Unregistered guest
I had this problem and found out how to solve it: Simply turn the camera on, hold it about 2 inches above a table or flat hard surface and whack it a few times. The LCD will come back on! Bizarre, but it works!

Unregistered guest
Thank you very!! much jacobs4. I was ready to toss the camera in the trash, saw your post, did exactly what you said, and VOILA!! THE CAMERA WORKS!!!!

Username: Stevenberk

Washington, DC USA

Post Number: 1
Hi, my name is Steven Berk. I am an attorney in Washington, DC, who specializes in representing consumers who have purchased defective products from technology companies. I am currently working on cases of that kind against JVC and Sony. In that regard, we are filing an amended class complaint against Sony to include digital still cameras. In connection with the amended complaint, it would be very useful if I could interview anyone about their experience with the blank LCD screen problem. If you are interested, please email me at stevenb@cuneolaw.com or call me at 202-789-3960. Thanks for your consideration.

CajunShaneD
Unregistered guest
My Sony DSC-P8 Cyber Shot Camera comes on but the telescopic lens is stuck. I can't get it to come out for anything. After turning it on I can hear it trying to open but after 45 sec. I get an error message saying turn camera off and back on.
Still nothing........

tirza
Unregistered guest
My Sony DSC-P8 Cyber Shot Camera telesopic lens is stuck in the "out" position. Wen I turn the camera on I can see old picturess I have taken and the setup screen, but everything else is blank. When I shut the camera off the lens stays open. Any suggestions?
Much Thanks,