Is it possible to splice a stereo cord into a headphone cord?

Username: Lozhkinlev

San Fransisco, CA America

Post Number: 1
I am not very good at this, so please do not flame:
My computer only takes headphone jack (obviously), and I finally got new speakers for my 5cd player, so I want to use my old speakers for my computer, I have ripped apart one of my old headphones and the wires consist of two wires, though the stereo speakers consist of many, and I also believe the headphones are brass, while the stereo is copper. I gave my old small speakers with headphone jack to my sister and I do not think she will be giving it back.... ever.... so could you please help me if it is possible to splice the stereo and headphone wires, and if yes, then how?... I do not have any more equipment then a soderer (friends) and some wire cutters.... I can't go out and buy expensive equipment for this... or any equipment actually.... after getting the new speakers I am now labeled "broke".

I am new to this, so please don't flame, and if you know how to please post, thank you.

I know nothing about this subject, please help.
Lev Lozhkin

Bronze Member
Username: Bachatero07

Post Number: 81
u cant connect speakers directly into the headphone jack of a computer. unless the speaker is amplified, meaning connected to a wall outlet. if they are the kind that connect to the wall, then the connector for it will most likely have a headphone jack n e way. i suggest either getting computer speakers or connecting the computer to the amp for the cd player. u can do this using a headphone to rca cable.

Gold Member
Username: Illuminator

USA

Post Number: 2755
Yeah, to clarify, the headphone jack only puts out about .5W of power for headphones/computer speakers. The speakers you're trying to hook up will most likely need at least 40W of power. You'll need an amplifier between the computer and the speakers or you'll get little to no sound.

Post Number: 4