Help Please computer problems

Anonymous

I need some help. I have an e-machine w2260, when I try to restore my computer with the restore discs I get the following error messages. Cannot open R:/w2260.GHo adn Cannot open Ghosterr.txt and invalid dump file. Can anyone please tell me what to do. I am having no luck with E-machines tech support. They have sent me 3 disc sets now and they think it is the discs but I do not think that is the problem. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Also one last note..When I put in the cd it say's it is restoring but after I take the disc out it goes right back to windows xp and everything is still there that was there before. Itis supposed to wipe everything off my computer and it isn't.
Thanks for any help that you can offer!

Bronze Member
Username: Thehitch

Fla.

Post Number: 80
Hi All, Please don`t groan too loud, but you got another noob here. I have a few trojans(imbedded) on my fairly new comp. winxp os, is there a way to get rid of them other than system restore? Right now I`m running micro spy and avg free. If I purchase xoft or something like that will it remove viruses? Thank you, Steve.

Gold Member
Username: Illuminator

USA

Post Number: 2192
That stuff isn't that great.

I highly recommend http://housecall.trendmicro.com (free online virus scan-my favorite).

Then run Ad-Aware (which can be downloaded for free-just Google it).

Bronze Member

Fla.

Post Number: 83
Jexx, thank you very much, not only for the info, but also the quick reply and I`ll sure give it a try, cya, Steve.

Bronze Member

Fla.

Post Number: 85