Digital cable and coax question

Username: Alm70

Post Number: 1
I have digital cable and at the moment the way I have the cable box hooked up to the tv is through RF/coaxial from the cable box to the VHF/UHF connection on the tv. The little that I do know about this stuff, wouldnt this hook-up produce the poorest quality picture? Maybe it's the limitations of the cable box, but I can't see any other way to do it.

Jukey
Unregistered guest
that would produce the worst quality. you should connect the cable jack on your wall to the cable unit with coaxial. the cable box to the TV should be the best connector you TV has. or the best one your cable box has. can you list the inputs on your TV and the outputs on your cable box???

Username: Alm70

Post Number: 2
Thanks Jukey. I'm new at all this and just learning. I appreciate yourt taking the time to help me.

The TV is new so it has lots of good inputs and outputs. 1 HDMI (high def. Multi media interface) 2 component inputs, 2 S-video inputs, Audio out, and a VHF/UHF RF input. I have my DVD player hooked up to the 1st component input on the tv and the picture looks great when playing a dvd.

Now for the Cable box. It has...RF output (how I have it hooked to the TV now) S-video, which I tried hooking the box up this way and it was only in black and white and looked awful. Video composite, tried this to the tv and it looked awful. I'm thinking my limitations are due to the cable box? It's kind of a strange box. Here is the link http://www.i3micro.com/templates/i3_ProductPage.aspx?id=262

You would think I would be happy with the s-video, but like I said it is black and white. I've had this box about 3 years. Is it safe to assume it is this box that is holding me back? Would a new box have the HDMI output?

Thanks in advance...

Bronze Member
Username: Beyondtool

Post Number: 16