Like

What ohm load is this?

 

Gold Member
Username: Van_man

Boston South, MA

Post Number: 1993
Registered: Mar-06
1 sub, DVC 4, running it at 2 ohms, wired to an amp PG M44 that is bridged. I say the amp is seeing a 1 ohm load. Any one else? Guy says amp is 2 ohms bridged, any one else have ideas? thanks.
 

Platinum Member
Username: Chaunb3400

Huntsville, Alabama U.S.

Post Number: 11461
Registered: Jul-05
2 or 4 channel amp?? most multi's are not 1ohm stable.

http://ampguts.realmofexcursion.com/Phoenix_Gold_M44/
 

Platinum Member
Username: Chaunb3400

Huntsville, Alabama U.S.

Post Number: 11462
Registered: Jul-05
bibliklknjnl;lk;j;lkjij8iij
 

Platinum Member
Username: Chaunb3400

Huntsville, Alabama U.S.

Post Number: 11463
Registered: Jul-05
bump 4 the love of ecrapstics
 

Gold Member
Username: Van_man

Boston South, MA

Post Number: 1994
Registered: Mar-06
Right, So the amp is four ohms Bridged. Now if you put a 2 ohm load to that, what would the amp do? Would it just put out 4 ohms wattage? 2 ohms wattage? or 1 ohms wattage? Or would it try and do a 2 ohm bridged power rating? before protect kicked in.
So if its 2 x 160 bridged to 4 ohms, and you put 2 ohms to it, would it try to do 2 x 230?
 

Gold Member
Username: Van_man

Boston South, MA

Post Number: 1996
Registered: Mar-06
TTT
 

Gold Member
Username: Van_man

Boston South, MA

Post Number: 2001
Registered: Mar-06
Any one?
 

Gold Member
Username: Van_man

Boston South, MA

Post Number: 2006
Registered: Mar-06
guesses?
 

Bronze Member
Username: 40hz

N.C. Usa

Post Number: 95
Registered: Dec-06
ya i did an old rf like that and it did ok but got hot after a few minutes of hard beats.but it was ran like that for a long time and never burned up.fosgate oldschool for ya! oh, its 2ohms mono,thats what your amp is doing if you got a dual 4 ohm wired paralel(sp?) + to + on sub to + on amp and - to - on sub to - on amp.most 2 channel amps wont take a 2 ohm mono load very long.either burn up,blow fuse,or cut off.
 

Gold Member
Username: Van_man

Boston South, MA

Post Number: 2008
Registered: Mar-06
Thanks. For some reason, I thought it would be a 1 ohm load. But that makes sence.
 

Gold Member
Username: Van_man

Boston South, MA

Post Number: 2009
Registered: Mar-06
"Or would it try and do a 2 ohm bridged power rating? before protect kicked in.
So if its 2 x 160 bridged to 4 ohms, and you put 2 ohms to it, would it try to do 2 x 230?" ?????????????????????
 

Bronze Member
Username: 40hz

N.C. Usa

Post Number: 96
Registered: Dec-06
ya it should try to double the regular bridge output,thats why itll get hot or blow fuses or burn up.hope that helps...you should be able to hear a big spl difference at 4 ohm mono and 2 ohm mono.even a sony explode will do 2 ohm mono for a couple seconds before going into protect.did a friends like that and it was way louder but only for about 10secs then went into protect.
 

Gold Member
Username: Johnfiac

IL Afghanistan,...

Post Number: 1427
Registered: Mar-06
Marc, if the amp is 1ohm stable 4ohm stable or whatever, it doesnt matter. The amp will still see the load that the speaker is wired for (and your boxrise and such) but it is all in all the same load basically, just that if your amp wont handle it your amp is going to break.. if you want it to run good at 2ohms bridged.. i hope its a well build amp and you have alot of cooling fans and such on it.. and if you do and its staying cool and still popping fuses... well its deffinetly putting out more power then its rated for lol... say the amp say 1000rms@4ohm... your pushing the amp for prolly about 2000rms@2ohm bridged.. which wont get the power it needs through the fuses..
 

Gold Member
Username: Van_man

Boston South, MA

Post Number: 2012
Registered: Mar-06
Thanks guys
« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Facebook

Shop Related Deals

Directory

Main Forums

Today's Posts

Forum Help

Follow Us