Ceiling speakers

Gold Member
Username: Loc_out

SoCal

Post Number: 3045
What's up guys? I'm in the process of buying a house I should be getting the keys later on this week. The house is only two years old. The previous owner ran wires on living room for ceiling speakers. I've started to browse around and found a few of them. I was hoping you guys would point me to the right direction. I'm new to this home audio stuff. What brands should I look at and what brands should I stay away from? Any advice would be helpful. Thanks guys.

Gold Member
Username: The_image_dynamic

San Diego, California

Post Number: 5428
These would work good:
http://www.parts-express.com/pe/showdetl.cfm?Partnumber=300-404

Anything name-brand (Bose, MTX, Polk, Definitive) will sound a bit better, but will cost you between 2x-5x more.

Gold Member

SoCal

Post Number: 3046
I was looking at those earlier today. Those would defiantly fit on my budget. I think four of those would work right? What receiver should I power them with? I notice they are only 35rms.

Anyone else has any suggestions?

Gold Member

San Diego, California

Post Number: 5429
http://www.circuitcity.com/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=38092 12&CatId=4586

Platinum Member
Username: Rovin

1 15 = 152.5 DBs ...Trinidad & T...

Post Number: 15681
is anything wrong with using car audio coax or even comps in ur ceiling ? ...

Gold Member
Username: Philly306

If youre going to give...

Post Number: 1487
yes that wou be "teh ghettos". ceiling speakers are specifically design for that application.

Gold Member

SoCal

Post Number: 3047
Brad that looks really good for the price. But I don't know if it would work for me. Let me give you my layout and budget. I know this will allow you to help me out better. I already picked the TV it's a Mitsubishi 73837. I would like to have 4 speakers in the ceiling maybe 6. I also plan on buying a sub or using a car sub but would need help on that too. Here is my budget.