DLP, Comcast, and HDTV!

BJ
Unregistered guest
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
OK. I'm an HDTV/big screen rookie in need of some big help!

I just bought a Samsung HLN4365W 43" DLP TV.
I had the Comcast guy come out yesterday and hook up their cable box. The technician knew even less than I did.

I have it hooked up like the manual says. The cable from the wall goes into the TV input, then out from the TV into the cable box, and back into the TV (I believe this is to allow the PIP to work).

My problem is that while the HDTV channels (all 4 of them) look good, but the regular channels look worse than they did than when I had the cable box. What is the deal? Also, my nice big fancy TV remote now doesn't change the channel, swap the PIP channels, etc. when the cable box is on. Would buying a DVI cable and using it to run between the TV and cable box improve this?

While I'm writing, has anyone hooked up their Playstation 2 to a DLP? Does it work good? It seems like it would be distorted when it stretches across the screen.

Does the PS2 provide a decent DVD picture, or should I go out and buy a composite cable, progressive scan DVD player?

Thanks for your help!

Username: Circuit_city

Portland, Or Usa

Post Number: 1
when did you buy this tv? you have a 43 hln which is last year but still its a good tv, i would start with getting comcast out to your house again to make sure everything is ran correctly,
and to your ps 2 question go to circuit city and buy a monster component cable for your ps 2 and hook it up, also buy the samsung dvd player that has the ddvi cable on it which will allow you to keep one of your components open for your ps 2 so also buy a dvi cable have any questions feel free to ask

araster
Unregistered guest
I just hooked up a samsung 5667w dlp hdtv monitor to the hdtv cable set top box using monster cables