HDMI to DVI-HD cable or adapter

Username: Oscar

Post Number: 2
I just purchased a samsung DVD-HD841 player to go with my Mitsubishi 525. Currently there is only on DVD player on the market that has a HDMI output and its a combo unit, so we are all stuck having to convert DVI-HD to HDMI. The monster cable at the local BB and CC runs for $119 (http://www.monstercable.com/productPage.asp?pin=2441 ) I am considering using an adapter that converts HDMI to DVI, has anyone had good results with this? (http://www.monstercable.com/productPage.asp?pin=2377)
I did find this companies cheaper cables:
http://www.ramelectronics.net/html/DVI-hdmi_cables.html
http://www.gefen.com/kvm/products/dvi-hdmi.jsp

My ohter option is to return the DVD player and wait until they release a DVD player with an HDMI output. If you think about if you have an HDMI intput and a DVI output you just increased the cost of your DVD play by $100 unless you buy the converter for $30.

I am new to this so any help, advice, or success stories are appreciated.
Thank you in advance!!

Mr. Lynch
Unregistered guest
Toshiba just released their new player with HDMI output (SD-5970). Check it out here
http://www.tacp.toshiba.com/dvd/product.asp?model=SD-5970

It lists for $250 but I paid $180 for it. I was $199 on the floor at Video Only in Seattle. It also comes with an HDMI to HDMI cable. It does everything the Sammy 841 can do, but from a more reliable company. Check it out.

Username: Coldcut

Temecula, CA US

Post Number: 5