I GIVE UP!

Username: Mike535

Post Number: 1
I have been researching new HDTV's for 6 months now. EVERY store I have been to, the non HD picture (a nonHD DIRECTV signal)looks WORSE than my 16 year old 45" Mitsubishi TV. HD on the new sets is incredible, but non-HD doesn't look that good at all! I get a different story from every salesrep I talk to! HELP! I would appreciate any and all feedback. I'm ready to stick with my 16 year old Mitsubishi.

Username: Jadin

Post Number: 1
I've been researching myself for several months and plan on taking the plunge within a month (we're moving). I'd be happy to help clarify any questions you might have... especially since you appear to be so frustrated with the experience. Sales Reps are the worst people to talk to for anything other than whether or not something is in stock. Its best to make your decision outside of the store and simply go into the store when you're ready or to browse.

Since I'm not sure exactly "what" you need help with, let me offer some general comments...

1. Standard Definition picture quality will be poor on all sets. Eating a Happy Meal at McDonalds is fine but you'd realize the lack in quality if you had the same meal in a 5 star restaurant. The HDTV brings out normal television's flaws. Personally, I plan on using my HDTV for DVDs and for computer gaming. I'm not even hooking it up to my cable. I have another TV that will remain in place for casual television watching. But that's just me.