Need help hooking up two vcrs to one tv

Unregistered guest
I'm trying to hook up two different vcrs to one tv. I'd like to be able to tape two different shows at once. Our Tv is in an extra bedroom, so we hardly ever watch it. But (during the season) we like to tape lots of different shows, then watch them when we can.

My TV is a JVC Master Command 111. Model: C-1329. In the back, it has one place for VHF/UHF and the electric plug that goes to the wall ... that's all.

One VCR is an Emmerson, Model: EWV601B. In the back it has Audio/Video/antenna places.

The second VCR is a Sony, Model: SLV620HF. In the back it has VHF/UHF spaces. It also has spaces for Line In/Out - Audio - Video

We have Cox Extended Basic cable with no box.
Is it even possible to hook these two vcrs to this tv for dual taping? If so, will someone please tell me how to hook it up and what cables etc. I need to have? I'm no electrician ... but I can follow directions (I hope) Thanks in advance.

Silver Member
Username: Samijubal

Post Number: 132
All you need to do is use a splitter on the incoming cable and hook to both VCRs. To be able to playback from both VCRs you need an A/B switch. Run the output from both VCRs into the switch and out of the switch to the TV, then just set the switch to which VCR you want to use. That will allow taping on both VCRs at the same time and you can playback from both too.

Unregistered guest
Thank you so much, David

Username: Paulndrema

Post Number: 1
Hi, I've read several questions/answers about using 2 vcrs with one tv, but I think my question may have a twist. I want to watch a tape from one vcr while taping a channel from the same tv on the 2nd vcr. Can this be done? How?

Silver Member

Post Number: 533
Run the output of the VCRs through an A/B switch, then just select which VCR you want to use. If you split the incoming cable you could even record on both at the same time if you wanted to.

Username: Paulndrema

Post Number: 2