Philips vcr ejects when played!

Username: Dave

Post Number: 1
hi to all the experts, I have a philips vr806 vcr. Every time I insert a cassette, it loads ok, but once I press play it attempts to play and then halts suddenly, then it rewinds or forwards for a few seconds (i now that a vcr rewinds the tape a bit before it ejects it but it takes longer than it should or use to) and then by taking more time that it use to too it ejects the tape.

it will not also record. I'm not technically minded but I've checked the heads and all sensors and cleaned them and everywhere where you can (information from net).

Theres no debris or anything tangled and it all moves smoothly except it not play/record.

any ideas please

Bronze Member
Username: Samijubal

Post Number: 41
Hard to say without seeing it but it may be the LED under the prism in the middle of the circuit board, it is a common problem on philips VCRs. After it ejects the tape does it try to pull the carriage back down?

Will Marshall
Unregistered guest
Hi I hope its o'k to post unregistered but I have a similar problem with a Philps VR 900
VCR.
Everything was working fine until out of the blue
it would not fully load any cassette.
The cassette goes in and down and then when it should lock in place and spool the tape around the heads it ejects instead.
The physical mechanism is o'k because I coaxed it into spooling the tape once after this by power on and off, then it ejected again.

I've tried a reset from power off by holding down the standby button with no luck.

I'm not sure what to try next any foibles in the past have rectified themselves with a reset

regards will

Post Number: 2
Hi Dave. What do you mean by pulling the carriage back down with or without tape. After the tape has been ejected. its in normal operation mode, I can take the take out tape from the slot. it does not unexpectadly try to insert the cassette backin.