Old tv, cable box, dvd help?

Username: Dustwolf

Auburn, WA United States

Post Number: 1
Hi all,

I'm a newbie here and I thought I knew about connecting simple things, but apparantly i'm a newbie in that catagory too. My problem is;

I have an old RCA tv with just the one cable hookup in the back. I'm also using Comcast's Motorola cable box. The tv is hooked up just fine to it, but now I bought a Magnavox ZC320MW8 DVD recorder that came with the 3 cables (red, white, yellow). I thought I could just hook up the cables from the DVD to the cable box, keeping everything else the same, but it's not working, or rather it's me that not working ;/ .

I've read other posts here, but nothing quite fits with this (simple?) connection. I've been looking around the net to try and figure out what i'm doing wrong, but either the answer is so simple that i'm just overlooking it, or is there something else I need to add?

Thanks for any help in advance, and please help if you can, I want to record some kewl shows. :-)

Gold Member
Username: Samijubal

Post Number: 3858
You need an RF modulator.

Auburn, WA United States

Post Number: 2
I can get one of those, but i'm still confused as to why this won't work directly. Yes, ok i'm blonde, but atleast I can work on cars and computers. ;)

Auburn, WA United States

Post Number: 3
By the way, thank you David, for letting me know about this RF Modulator. (I forgot to mention that.)

Gold Member

Post Number: 3859
If your cable box has inputs and you can switch it to auxilary, it should work. I think cable box inputs aren't active, you can try though.

Silver Member
Username: Ieee488

Post Number: 114
If you'd post your cable box model number, it would be much more helpful.

Auburn, WA United States

Post Number: 4
I have the Motorola SFT 2 cable box, and my tv is a 1987 RCA Colortrak, Model FPR520WR.

Upload
(Ignore the circle on the back of this. These are images I found, but it shows what I have.)

Upload