Connections TV, cable, satellite,DVD recorder.

Silver Member
Username: Creek

Smithtown, New York

Post Number: 480
I am a teacher and I need to be able to record informative programs to DVD, which I can show in my social studies classes.
Today, I bought a Panasonic DMR-EZ27 at BestBuy. The manual does not show how to connect my TV to the cablevision box, the satellite receiver, to the DVD receiver.
Can somebody help me?
Thanks.

Bronze Member
Username: Ieee488

Post Number: 16
Are you saying you have both cable and a satellite receiver box?

Do you currently have a VCR in this setup anywhere?

If you do, just take it out and put in your DVD recorder.

Silver Member

Smithtown, New York

Post Number: 482
Yes, I have a cable box (Scientific Atlanta 8300HD) and a viewsat extreme.
No, I don't have a VCR in this set up.
Thanks.

Silver Member

Smithtown, New York

Post Number: 483
Upload
Although I don't have a VCR, I will use this set up I found at the Panasonic website.
Tomorrow, after I recuperate from the Giants party, I will set it up.

Silver Member

Smithtown, New York

Post Number: 486
This set up did NOT work.
Tell me what I am doing that is wrong:
I have a TV, a DVD recorder, a viewsat, and a cablebox.
1. Cablebox and viewsat connected to RF in with respective wall sources
2. Cablebox RF out to RF IN into the DVD recorder.
3. DVD recorder RF OUT to Back of TV UHF VHF IN.
4.Satellite box AV OUT (red, white, and yellow) to DVD recorder AV IN.
5. DVD AV out to AV IN into the back of TV.
After turning all on, the Satellite image does not appear on TV. Only the cablebox image appears on the TV.
I disconnected the satelite going to the DVD recorder and plugged in straight to the TV. However I will not be able to record from the satellite. I can only record from the cablebox.
Does anyone have another chart that I can follow?

Bronze Member

Post Number: 19