HELP me spend money...

Username: Surfinagain

Post Number: 3
i'm a newbie to all of this...and have done a reasonable amount of research but i'm sure i'm haven't considered everything. i've narrowed things down to two LCD tv sets:

1. Sony BRAVIA XBR 46" LCD Television
2. Sharp 52" HDTV AQUOS LCD Flat Panel Television

my questions are:

1. which is a better choice, and why?
2. are there other choices in the same price range that i should be considering?
3. i started my search thinking LCD was a better technology than plasma. am i wrong this assumption? if so, educate me.
4. i need help with the home theater electronics/audio stuff too. i have a budget of about $1000 for that. i'm just setting up a family room not a full HT.

thanks in advance for any help.

Post Number: 4
come on...someone has to have an opinion about these two as to which is better and why? i need to make this decision soon and would love some feedback from those who know a ton more about this technology than i do.

Post Number: 5
man...what's it take to get some opinions on this topic?

Username: That_boy_eyght

Post Number: 5
I would love to help you out man, but those tvs are too rich for my blood, so I'd really be of no help. However, I can tell you that I was in Circuit City the other day and saw that Sony bad boy up close and personal, and it's mean, man! Real mean. This thing looked great turned off. The whole asthetic and design is slick and the picture quality was quite good as well. It pretty much made the 32 inchers I was looking it seem like crap afterwards. Hope that helps a little.

Bronze Member
Username: Blackcove

Post Number: 36
xbr is the better model

Silver Member
Username: Alright_boy

Post Number: 243
XBR has better performance although some have questioned long term reliability. Unless you are stuck on LCD, might also consider the new 1080p Panasonic plasmas. Although I have not seen them, my info indicates they are outstanding.

Silver Member
Username: Rysa3