Upscaling

Username: Jaffafergus

Post Number: 1
I currently have a Samsung 32'CRT(slim fit TV)(HDTV 1081 Ready)connected with Monster component leads. I am considreing buying a DVD upscaling machine either the Samsung 950 or Toshiba 350e. My first question is which is the best machine and secondly will these machines perform the upscaling functions through these leads. Although both machines have HDMI connectivity by TV does not.

HELP

Silver Member
Username: Praetorian

Canada

Post Number: 162
Hmm, I do not have experience with those brands however; I have plenty of experience with upscaling. First, I don't think you need one for a 32in cathode ray tube. At that screen size I doubt you will notice a significant difference, so if you could audition one, instead of flat out buying it then I suggest you try that route. Second, You cannot upscale with component for some reason. With DVI or HDMI, you skip any storage and go straight to the end circuit (your TV) which is no issue, but with component, info is temporarily "stored" in the DAC on your DVD, which apparently has some copy protect/legal issues. So it is a complicated and quasi-illegal rigmarole to view upscaled movies via component. You have to burn the commercial discs onto one of your own. So without the copy-protect on your burned copy, you can upscale just fine over component.

The 950 looks like a good buy, and it comes with its own HDMI - HDMI, and HDMI - DVI cables, pretty cool. A fairly run of the mill DAC though, if you look at my profile, the DVD player I have uses a 12 bit DAC. Otherwise the 950 seems to edge out the Tosh, but not by much... if price is an issue, go with the Tosh.

Gold Member
Username: Samijubal

Post Number: 2567