DVD Recording w/ DirecTV - Newbee!!

Username: Ajozefiak

Post Number: 1
Hello,
I am new to all the this dvd recording stuff and am looking for some help. Just bought a Samsung DVD Recorder and want to record a different channel while watching another, set up timer...etc....
Can someone please give me the logistical setup of everything? I have DirecTV HD receiver with a DVD recorder plus a TV (of course). I tried to do it but all I got was a snow storm on DVD.

Thanks!!!

Username: Cwc

Houston, TX USA

Post Number: 2
Hi Alan.

Do you have an off air antenna? Can you receive TV signals without the DirecTV receiver?

If the answer is no, you will need 2 receivers and 2 DirecTV lines in the room. One connected to the DVD recorder and one connected to the TV. Can be kind of expensive.

I have a DirecTV HD DVR. The DVR contains 2 HD tuners. By dropping a 2nd DirecTV line into the room, the HD DVR can use both of its tuners and record one channel and you can watch another channel on the other tuner. You could then transfer a recording to the DVD recorder later.

Another option would be to drop a 2nd DirecTV line into the room and hook up an analog receiver to it, (cheap). Hook the analog receiver to the DVD recorder. The DVD recorder doesn't record HD anyway. The image this setup gets is small screen. It will have to be upconverted to widescreen or watch it in letterbox During playback.

The HD receiver produces a wide screen image. Eeven though the DVD recorder can only record 480i, It can record the image in wide screen. When this recording is played back with progressive scan, it looks like HD. This would require a 2nd HD receiver...

Hope this helps.
Chuck

Tresa
Unregistered guest