Need help picking out a tv

Username: Andrew266

Medford, Ny Usa

Post Number: 1
Hello, Im new here and I have been saving some money over the holidays for a new tv, i was wondering whether to get a 32 inch lcd or a 42 dlp. I have been very happy with Samsung products and I want to stick with them. Im looking for something thats going to last me a while cause I am a college student and have little funds. And i want some good hd quality. Here are my two choices and the setup of my room.

42 inch DLP HL-R4266W
32 inch LCD LN-R328W

5 foot viewing distance
Samsung DVD-P348 DVD PLAYER (ALL REGION)
iO Digital Cable

Yamaha 6.1 Surround Sound
HTR-5750 Reciver
NS-AP9500 Speakers

Little Bird
Unregistered guest
I'd go with the 4266, you definitely want as large a picture as you can get. Although if you can make the stetch you should be able to get the 5067 for around 2250 this week at either CC or BB.

Bronze Member
Username: Jumpback

Post Number: 31
Recently I purchased a 32"LCD HD Samsung. Not sure if it is the same one you are mentioning. This one was $1799 at Conn's and Samsung has a promotion and they will send you a DVD player as a bonus.

If you are only five feet away the 32" will do you just fine. The Samsung is extremely bright and the HD picture is about as fine a picture as you will find. We really like the performance.

Medford, Ny Usa

Post Number: 2
I am worried about dead pixels with the lcd and then i heard with the dlp the rainbow effect and he hinges have to be replaced after 80000 hours thats only about a year im conffused. I want to go with the 42 but i dont want to move my head to see the whole picture.

Silver Member
Username: Helpful_smurf

Post Number: 140
It's 80,000 hours of USE, not 80,000 actual hours. Plus there are no "hinges" per se that could even be replaced. They are freaking microscopic, easier to just replace the whole DMD chip. 5 feet is kind of close though so I'd likely recommend the 32 LCD, it is a gorgeous picture.

Medford, Ny Usa