Help a total noob

Username: Mojovonious

Post Number: 1
Hey guys,

well, I'm in the market for a start HDTV set, nothing too too pricey, somewhere in the $2000 canadian range, 42-52". I just don't know anything about HDTV. I'm manily getting it for xbox360 and for dvds. So I have a few questions I'd like to ask.

Will I need a special box took get an hdtv signal from my xbox to my tv, or from my dvd player to my tv, or is it a direct connection?

What exactly is a HDTV ready set?

Should I spend the extra cash and get a DLP?

Finally, what TV should i get?

Thanks guys.

fx
Unregistered guest
HDTV ready means you need an external tuner in order to display high definition programming. Either an ATSC turner for OTA signals or a QAM tuner for cable HD channels.

xvxvxvx

Bronze Member
Username: Saaketham

Post Number: 26
>Will I need a special box took get an hdtv >signal from my xbox to my tv, or from my dvd >player to my tv, or is it a direct connection?

XBox - you will need to buy the $20 HD AV Pack from Microsoft to get HD out from XBox to HDTV. But, I'm not sure about the XBox 360 as its not out yet. It probably comes with the HD out cables.

>What exactly is a HDTV ready set?
The TV is capable of displaying HD signals, but does not have a built-in tuner. So, if your HD service provider is Cox, you'll need to rent Cox's HD box in order to get HD channels. With Cox, HD-ready is better in a sense, as with the box, you have the interactive TV-guide. Without it, you can watch HD on a HDTV with built-in tuner, but won't be able to use the channel guide.

> Should I spend the extra cash and get a DLP?

Not necessarily.

DLP
Pros: thin profile, good clarity.
Cons: lamp has to be changed (frequently or infrequently, depending on your luck) and costs a whole lot of money

CRT pros: still the best image in terms of colors and sharpness, no native resolution, since it can handle resolution as needed