Buying a dlp

Username: Hndsmpete

Post Number: 1
Hey guys well im kinda new to the dlp scene, but i would like to buy one in the next 2 weeks or so. Im lookin at the samsung HL-R5067 looks like a good t.v heres my question...
1. Is it worth it to get the hd2+ chip (i have a budget around 2-2400 Bucks)
Im kinda new so if you guys could help me out, before i buy it id appreciate it.
Is it maybe worth it to go with a lcd, also could afford the sony lcd, i cant decide

Bronze Member
Username: Jimkw

Columbus, Ohio USA

Post Number: 70
First of there will be guy who hits the bong come on here and tell you not to buy it. You have to ignore him, he knows nothing whatsoever, but thinks he does.

The HL-R5067 does not use the HD2+ chip. It uses the Enhanced HD3 or sometimes referred to as the HD4. At least I think this is what I have learned. If I'm wrong, somebody will surely correct me. I have been reading here quite a bit as well as on other boards, and if I were to buy one today I would buy the HL-R5067. You can get a real good deal on it if you search pricegrabbers.com. See my thread titled "Is this too good to be true" and follow some of the links in that thread. I brought it back near the top yesterday. Good luck and let us know what you decide.

Post Number: 2
Well thats good, ya i have seen in for 1980 with shipping on price grabber, which is why its kinda too good to pass up, any experiences with the video game thing?

Silver Member
Username: Tombo777

Post Number: 209
Yeah I will tell you NOT to buy it. Bong knows what he reads and what he reads is right here on this board and others. IF those who are posting with all the issues know nothing then as well I don't because thats where I get my information. Here and at the betteer forum AVS.