HDTV: Built-In or Set-Top Box???

Username: Chee2828

Post Number: 1
I'm a newbie and I'm looking to buy an HDTV... Question is, should I buy an HDTV with a built-in tuner or an "HDTV ready" and purchase additional HDTV tuners? Does one have better quality over the other? Please help!

Thanks,
Chee

Anonymous

Key question is whether you have hi def cable available or plan to have hi def satellite

For 90% of people an integrated tuner w/b redundant, a waste of the typically extra 400 to 500 dollars the manufacturer is charging. This is because their cable system - e.g Comcast is going to have hi def boxes available

Quality is approx the same for both

Now sometimes you can almost get an HD tuner for free like the Sanyo 30" widescreen HDTV (with integrated tuner) that Walmart sells for around $650.00

Sometimes integrated tuners come with cable cards, however these card tend to create far more problems than they solve, and you end up often missing 1/2 the features typical hi def cable boxes offer, along with potential use of hard drive HI DEF recorders such as the excellent Motorola model offered by Comcast

Bronze Member
Username: Dmwiley

Post Number: 57
One other consideration: if you live within a reasonable distance of television stations, with the appropriate indoor or outdoor antenna, an ATSC tuner will receive free broadcasts, including those in HD. Otherwise, I tend to agree with Anonymous.

Silver Member
Username: Paul_ohstbucks

Post Number: 173
I also agree that the built-in tuner is redundant. If you use cable or satellite, you'll be going through a box anyway and their is really no need to pay extra for a built in tuner that you'll never use. Plus, there is an included input for off air signals that can be plugged into your box. At least the satellite boxes do. With my TV, it was $1500 more for the built in tuner....:laugh: