DTV with Infocus 4805

ronin
Unregistered guest
Long time listener, first time caller,
I have Direct TV and I want HD for the local channels. I'm not to interested in the Direct TV HD package. Can I purchase an Over The Air antenna and HD tuner and plug that into the 4805 projector?

Anonymous

The INFOCUS 4805 which runs at 480p is not high def, so the issue could be moot

However, to get at least digital/dvd quality over the air signals - any Samsung box with a simple VHF antenna or(e.g zenith HDTV antenna @35 dollars) - with a component connection - will do the job

Ebay sell such boxs used, real cheap

However its DVD quality digital in your case at best - not actual full blown HD

ronin
Unregistered guest
Thanks for the answer. Just some clarification, I'm new to all of this. You're saying because of my native resolution that I can't have anything better than 480P? The projector says it can output up to 1080i. Will my projector only show a 480p quality picture? I'm asking because I'm thinking of upgrading my prog. dvd player to an LG LST-3510 tuner w/upscaling dvd and a DVI cable.
Any help would be appreciated.

Anonymous

The reason why for example the Infocus 5000 (native 720p) runs 700 dollars higher than the model 4805 is precisely because it can in fact operate at true Hi Def

Usually manufacturers claim they can "handle" or "upconvert" for example 1080i signals - really doesn't mean that much in the end, except maybe line doubling or some synthetic method, or simply taking signals and converting them down

HDTV requires native 720p for these projectors

Unregistered guest
If the 4805 is not true Hi Def then what about the other projectors in a similar price range such as the Optoma H30. Can you list some that are true Hi Def in that price range. Thanks

Anonymous

http://www.projectorpeople.com/hometheater/all-ht-projectors.asp?sort=price

start here to get at least a partial list