Bose Acoustimass 3 Surgery

Username: Patrick69

Las Vegas, NV USA

Post Number: 1
Need some help here?
I have a Denon AVR-1602 5.1, 1970 Advent (25'' X 14" two way) fronts and am using the Bose Acoustimass 3 speakers for the rear set. What I want to do is remover the crossover from the sub cabinet, disable the subwoofer and buy another sub hooking directly to the receiver. I have some questions regarding this operation and need some help. I am a software engineer and know little of the hardware so please, no formulas.

1. I will remove the crossover from the cabinet and remove the sub so I can keep the cub operation, do I have to terminate the wires with a resister or can I leave the circuit open and insolate the ends?

2. I know that Bose doesn't publish their specs on the hardware so if indeed I can perform the above operation, what frequency range sub will work the best. Based on browsing this site I will need at least an 8" sub.

Thanks in advance.

Silver Member
Username: Jrbay

Livonia [Detroit area], Michigan USA

Post Number: 617
I hate to sound rude here but why not just get rid of all the Bose speakers (sell it as is) altogether? This would open up many more options that would greatly improve your system.

Gold Member
Username: John_s

Columbus, Ohio US

Post Number: 2421
­
Pat, why don't you just discard the Bose module and use the Denon's LFE output to the new sub? The Denon's crossover system is perfectly capable of handling bass management.

Gold Member

Columbus, Ohio US

Post Number: 2422
­
Or yes, do as Jim suggests and get rid of everything in your system with the "B" word on it.

Why do you need to perform surgery on the Bose bass module?

Las Vegas, NV USA

Post Number: 2
Thanks for the response.

Q - Why don't I unload the Bose speakers?
A - Well to tell you the truth, the rear speakers were installed on the ceiling with cube brackets and I really don't want to shop for new ones and then have to patch the ceiling.