Need help deciding on receiver

Username: K79miller

Post Number: 1
I'm a real newbie to all of this so need some help. I've tried other forums & haven't gotten much help so I'm hoping that I will have better luck here. First of all my room is 21x23 and it will be used 90%normal tv & 10% movies & music. Here's what I have so far:
TV: Panasonic plasma with 2 HDMI hookups
front speakers: Polk RTi8's
center: Polk CSi25
surround: Polk FXi's(not sure exactly which ones yet)
Sub: nothing picked out yet.

What I need help with is a receiver. I thinking about the Panasonic XR-55 or Onkyo 505. Does anyone have any thoughts on these 2 receivers with this setup? I'm open to any & all suggestions.

Platinum Member
Username: Project6

Post Number: 14281
Have you listened to anything else?

I am not particularly fond of the Panasonic, but I have known a lot of people really liking it. Keep in mind that it is a personal preference that Panasonic is not my cup of tea but you may end up liking it yourself.

The key is listening for yourself and let your ears decide.

Username: Timmboj

Post Number: 1
Me too. I need to buy a new receiver and want to make sure I get the right one. My main concern isn't sound so much as the right technology to simplify connections and process the latest Blu-Ray and Comcast HDTV programming. Initially I was just gonna buy something with HDMI ports in back, but it seems more complicated than that with all the digital technology happening out there. I was looking at getting a Sony STRDG910. Any suggestions?

Platinum Member

Post Number: 14286
Check out the Pioneer VSX-1017 or the Harman Kardon AVR 146, 147 or 247. I would stay away from Sony receivers.

Username: K79miller

Post Number: 2