Need help deciding what to get for home theater!

Username: Jwardelt

Post Number: 1
hello all!
i am very new to the whole home theater system 'stuff'! i recently bought a 32" samsung lcd hdtv 7000:1 contrast 720p, etc. i had an LG 5.1 5 disc changer w/ speakers/sub. i hooked that up to my tv w/ an hdmi cable. worked great. now the LG has taken a crap on me. and i am gettin basic cable this week, so here's the deal, where should i go with buying a new system?
i want to watch basic cable using my surround speakers. will i be able to run the basic cable through the dvd home theater surround speakers or do i have to go directly to the tv with it? what type of input is required for the basic cable? or am i better off getting a reciever/speakers? can i run basic cable through that? this is all very confusing to me, so any help is greatly appreciated!

Silver Member
Username: Nickelbut10

Post Number: 386
If you have a cable box both can be run for surround sound. Find a local home theater/audio shop near you, or a few. Go visit them, see what they have to offer. Listen to some stuff, see what you like the sound of. Stay away from the box stores. Go to a proper dealer.

Username: Jmart

Post Number: 1
HI, Everyone,
My old Panasonic 5.1 passed on. I want to upgrade to 7.1, but if I upgrade for more than $1,000 I'll be watching all by myself.
I've decided that Onkyo is as good a bang for the buck as any. I'm between the 990THX, which puts out 130w per channel, but has no HDMI ins or outs, and the 907 ( soon to be 908 ) model, which has these connections but puts out only 85-90w.
My present hook-up ( I have a Sony proj HI-Def TV ) has DVI from Cable box to TV, Svid out from DVD/receiver ( combined into one unit ) to the TV, and optical connect from cable box to DVD/receiver.
So, how important are these HDMI connections? If I opt for the 990, will I regret not having them down the road?