Seeking review of Onkyo HT-S767C

Anonymous
Hi All,
I have a room that is 19 X 17 and is around 20 ft tall.
Have decided to buy the Onkyo HT-S767C and was wondering how people on this forum found it to be. Would really appreciate your help. Will connect a DVD player and a CD player to it. Can i also connect a VCR to the receiver by any chance. Regards

Scott
The 767 is the same as the 760 but the 767 inlcudes a dvd player. I'm also interested in this system and would appreciate any comments.

The 760 can be purchased at Circuit City for around $500.

My question is, Is the DVD with the 767 worth the extra $279 or would a cheaper player work ok?

Anonymous
If you have a DVI input on your TV, I would buy the new DVD players with DVI (e.g., Bravo D1 or Samsung HD 931).

Anonymous
Can someone explain what a DVI input is? I'm a newbie considering the 767 and will also be buying a new TV. Thanks.

G-Man
I would never buy a receiver with a dvd attached. If one breaks you are stuck. There are plenty of good progressive scan dvd/cd players to be had under $300, so why shoehorn yourself into the one a company decides to give you? You may want to upgrade either your receiver or dvd player at some point--another reason not to get them in one unit.

G-Man
The DVI interface is used on data projectors, plasma displays, digital TVs (DTVs) and set-top boxes. DVI includes HDCP (High-bandwidth Digital Content Protection) which is an encryption method for safeguarding copyrighted material.