Rookie question

Username: Anujitd

Post Number: 8
Hi Guys,

I am quite new to the world of hometheaters, and hopefully you can help

I have a sony HD ready 32" LCD ( 1366X768)

My choices of AV receivers are -
- Denon 2307 - which has HDMI uponversion
- Denon 1907

If I go for the 2307, I am planning on using component connectors between my DVD ( not HD), and the receiver...and HDMI between the receiver and the TV

If I go for the 1907, which does not have a HDMI in/out, I would probably connect the TV to the DVD directly using component cables.

The 2307 is about $250 more expensive, and I was wondering if the HDMI would be to a great advantage considering I do not have a HD DVD.

Gold Member
Username: John_s

Columbus, Ohio US

Post Number: 1583
­
The question here is whether you will ever own a blue laser HD player. If yes then maybe the 2307 would be worth the extra expense. Also with the 2307 you're buying a little more head room in the amp section.

There's no reason to incorporate HDMI just for the sake of having it. There should not be any difference between the picture generated by your DVD player on the TV's HDMI input or its component input.
­

Post Number: 9
Hi John,

sorry, havent been around for a while

Yes the HD / Blu ray DVD is part of the next phase of the setup...Right now I am trying to make up my mind regarding the amp..and how it would all sit together.

I dont think I really know what 'upconversion' really is..If it only is converting component signal to HDMI and have 0% signal loss, with no difference in the picture quality, would it be necessary to route the cabling thru the amp? Maybe I could connect the TV and the HD DVD thru one HDMI cable..thoughts?

Gold Member

Columbus, Ohio US

Post Number: 1593
­
anujit, here's two reasons why you would want to hook up HDMI cable(s) through your receiver.