Need help with speaker crossover?

Bronze Member
Username: Deadhorse

Post Number: 47
I'm relatively new to the game and think I know what this is, the point at which the sub takes the low frequency over from the fronts but have no idea of how to go about setting it up?

If anyone can help and needs specs from my components here are links to the manuals;

Sub
http://www.4electronicwarehouse.com/content/yamaha/yst-sw515-manual.pdf

Receiver
http://www.pioneerelectronics.com/pio/pe/images/portal/cit_11221/218219113VSX515 OperatingInstructions.pdf

Fronts
http://www.usersmanualguide.com/panasonic/speaker_system/sb-t200

Silver Member
Username: Westcott

League City, Texas

Post Number: 189
The yamaha manual pretty much spells out how to set the sub on page 18 and 19.

The Pioneer manual spells out the how to set the crossover to 80Hz on page 38.

Start there and let us know what you are struggling with.

Bronze Member

Post Number: 52
Westcott-

I'm sorry and I really do appreciate the help but I don't see anything on page 38 about setting it to 80Hz, is this what you concluded from the information on page 38?

Silver Member

League City, Texas

Post Number: 192
80Hz is an accepted starting point and has been extesively tested by Lucas Films. Once you get things going, you can play with lower settings but 80Hz is an accepted norm.

Gold Member
Username: Arande2

Extreme SQ FTW

Post Number: 2044
West, I'm a seein' ya around other forums!

Bronze Member

Post Number: 53
So the lower I set the crossover frequency the more bass goes to all speakers before it "crosses over" and the sub takes all low frequencies?

Also, what should I set the highcut frequency and volume to on the sub if I'm setting the crossover to 80Hz?

Bronze Member
Username: Floyd_1977

Plainfield, IL USA

Post Number: 67