Surround Sound on TV

Username: Chattipatti

Post Number: 1
I hooked up my JVC THC50 home theater. All seems to be working fine. My question is this.
When a TV show is broadcast in surround sound will all of my 5 speakers work?
Now, I am hearing just the front left and right.
Thanks for any help. I am a newbie at this.

Username: Linuxpimp

Post Number: 2
Hi

I am no expert either, but you should be have a setting (usually on the remote of the home theater) that controls the speakers. Usually called "sound field". This will control what speakers are used. The surround on the TV only affects how the sound is distribbuted between the speakers not if it disctributed between all speakers.

I would suggest you consult your users manual for the exact setting.

Hope this helps

lp

Gold Member
Username: Arande2

400dB could probably d..., SouthWest Mi... Too Many DBs...

Post Number: 1028
Well, most TV shows are encoded with Dolby Pro Logic II like the Simpsons for example. It should say at the beginning of the show if it's in mono or stereo or if you have satellite it'll show in the information, a lot of times stereo means that Dolby Pro Logic II is possibly encoded. That's all I know.

Platinum Member
Username: Project6

Post Number: 12633
"When a TV show is broadcast in surround sound will all of my 5 speakers work?"

Your home theater receiver is capable of reproducing surround sound. Whether it is in "true surround" is a different matter. Just because the banner on the show says it is simulcast in surround or high definition audio, it does not necessarily mean that you will be getting these benefits. Check with your service provider and they can provide you with more detailed guidance.