Wanted...Complete and utter noobie set up help!

Username: Theymademedoit

BristolUK

Post Number: 1
Hi all,
1st off this is my 1st post as well as my 1st home theatre set up attempt!
Yesterday I was given a Sony Subwoofer SA W305 with 5 surround speakers and a Sony amp (unsure of model but will check and post details).
After walking for what seemed like ages with it all to get it home, I have ended up with 10ft stretched arms and I have torn all my hair out with frustration!

I am trying to set it up so I can play DVD's and use my Eurovox Max box and be able to receive half decent sound.
As pointed out I am new at this so I sort of need to be advised as if you were talking to a child.
Firstly I plugged in the amp and attached the 5 speakers to it and when I played a DVD I could hear sound out of 2 speakers but not the rest. Then when trying to figure it out the amp turned itself off and then when switched back on its displayed the word 'PROTECT' and no further sound came out, in fact I could do nothing except turn it off.

Does anyone have any advice or know what the 'PROTECT' means?
Maybe I am trying to set it up incorrectly, so could someone tell me what leads are required and if I should try and connect to the DVD player or the Cable box?

Another silly question, do I actually need the amp or can the sub and 5 speakers be directly connected to the DVD player and if so....how?

Thanks and I apologise if this seems obvious!

Regards,

Alan

BristolUK

Post Number: 2
Here are some images of the backs of the unit to help!Upload
Upload
Upload

Do I need to plug the speakers into the back of the sub, then get a certain kind of wire to connect the sub to the dvd?

HELP!!!!
AAARRRGGHHH!

BristolUK

Post Number: 3
Ooops....here is the sub!

BTW not sure if the amp is working due to it constantly saying 'PROTECT'

Equip -
Sony SA-W305
Umax Kazuki DVD-7400X
Upload

Gold Member
Username: John_s

Columbus, Ohio US

Post Number: 1297
­