Please second guess me! This is what I'm close to buying

Username: Oneweight

Post Number: 6
After much pain and deliberation, this is the system that I'm considering: Please give me your thoughts as to whether I'm headed down a decent path as I'm new to this.

Samsung HPS4273 - panel
Onkyo TXSR604 receiver
Paradigm CC170 - center
Paradigm Titans - fronts
Paradigm Cinema ADP's - rears
Soundmatters Substage 100 - sub

My room is only 10x12 and is very small. I will probably put the sub under the couch as has been recommended. Fronts and center will be on shelves up front and rears will be wall mounted to exact left and right of the couch which will be situated at the rear of the room against a window.

Knowing that I'm going somewhat economical to mid-range (this is subjective) is this a decent system? Any edits or recommendations?

System above is ~$3200.

thx all

Platinum Member
Username: Project6

Post Number: 11383
The only thing I would change would be your receiver. Check out the Pioneer VSX 1016, I believe it has a much better power supply than the Onkyo unit you are planning.

I cannot comment on the subwoofer as i have not heard it. But check out the HSU stf-1 subwoofer, an excellent sub.

Bronze Member
Username: Shawnharman

Post Number: 18
the pioneer vsx-1016 would be a very good choice, I actually compared it to onkyo and the pioneer had much better sound quality IMO.

Silver Member
Username: Mccambley

BREEZY POINT, NY USA

Post Number: 281
I use to like Onkyo but then found out that some of there power stats where miss leading. I like Denon, but pioneer is no slouch. I suggest you go all out for your Paradigm speakers and get the ADP170 for the rears.http://www.paradigm.com/Website/SiteParadigmProduct/ParadigmModels/SystemChoice/ systems.html

Silver Member
Username: Mccambley

BREEZY POINT, NY USA

Post Number: 282
Some Denon suggestions http://usa.denon.com/ProductDetails/3255.asp http://usa.denon.com/ProductDetails/3254.asp

Gold Member