* * What can $4,000 buy me?? TV & System-Need help * *

Username: Maq0kfx

Cape Coral, Fl USA

Post Number: 1
I have a budget of $4,000 to buy a TV and a systems (7.1) please recomend what do I need, such as a amps, speakers, what type of tv etc, I'm new at this and have no idea and would to waste my money, I will be purchasing in the next couple of days. Thanks Mike....

michaelcapecoral@hotmail.com
theq@the-q.com

Username: Kilgoretrout

Post Number: 3
Whoa, first off DON'T RUSH. Take your time, you'll be much happier in the long run.

There's way too many variables to be able to answer your question precisely.

First off, how big of a TV are you looking at? That will depend somewhat on the size of your room and the distance your seating is from the screen. I am a big fan of Costco for electronics purchases whenever possible, their return policy is unmatched. Especially for the TV that's a great place to start as most of their stores have a pretty decent selection of good quality TVs. If you are looking for a screen in the area of 50" or so, figure you'll be spending in the neighborhood of $2500 on the display.

For the sound side of things, your room may not even be workable for 7.1 as opposed to 5.1 - if your seating area is at or close to the back wall then forget 7.1 and go with a 5.1 speaker setup.

A general rule of thumb is to figure something in the area of a 2 or 3 to 1 ratio of spending on speakers vs. receiver. So assuming you spend $2500 on the display and have $1500 for the sound system, you'll want to spend no more than $500 on the receiver and the rest on the speakers, ideally less on the receiver if you can find something on sale or whatever.