Newbie needs help

Username: Mbsohio

Fortville, In US

Post Number: 1
I am somewhat new to the home theater world. I just moved into a new house and have been waiting to hook up my system. Now, I can't get it to work!!

I just bought a 56" Samsung DLP which has an HDMI cable. My Sony home theater receiver is about 5 years old and does not have HDMI-only the Red, White, and Yellow outlets. I also have a DirecTV HD DVR and a DVD/VCR Combo player as well.

Please let me know the best way to hook this up. I want to use my HDMI outlet, but I don't know where I should run that cable to. I REALLY appreciate anyone's help.

Silver Member
Username: Praetorian

Canada

Post Number: 175
Well Martin, as far as your "receiver" is concerned, if it really "only" has composite cables, then that is what your limited too. However, even 5 yr old receivers have more outputs than composite, if not HDMI, the might have DVI, but failing that, it is rare to find a receiver (even the HTiB types) to not have component or something along those lines... but if you say your stuck with composite, we will go with that for now, although in your next post please show us the models and brands you have for each of your components, then perhaps we can help you out with a little more detail. So, with what you have provided so far, we can probably safely say your best bet is thus:

DVI-out/ HDMI-in connecting your Cable box.

Composite vid connecting your DVD video to your TV, coax/digital audio connecting your DVD audio to your receiver.

Username: Mbsohio

Fortville, In US

Post Number: 2
Thank you Michael. I guess I am a little mixed-up on the terminology. My main point on my receiver is it does not have an HDMI input. Following is my equipment list:

Receiver Sony STR-DE845
Directv rec HR 10-250
Toshiba DVD/VCR SD-V393
Samsung 56" HD DLP