Can't connect TV to Sony receiver

Username: Larryphoto

Hanover, MA USA

Post Number: 1
Hi, I am new to the board and I'm looking for a little help. I am trying to set-up my Sony TV to a Sony receiver to get Surround sound and I can't get any sound from it. I have some knowledge in Stereo but, I am not 100% current on surround sound systems. Here is the story. We bought a Sony Wega 32" flat screen TV (no plasma or anything like that) to replace our old and tired Sony from the late 80s. The TV is great and I had it set up with a DVD/VCR Combo player and were able to use both the player and TV with no problems. Here is what the set-up was before I tried to add the receiver. The TV was hooked up to an indoor VHF/UHF antenna (we do not have cable or satellite). The hook-up was simple. I had the antenna coaxial cable going into the DVD player's "Coaxial In" and then, I had a coaxial comming from the player "out" jack going into my TV's "Coaxial in". Everything was peachy even though the TV reception was not great (I am in the process of getting an outdoors TV antenna). What I have right now is a Sony STR-DE885 receiver that I am trying to set up to the same TV and DVD/VHS combo player. I connected 2 front speakers and 2 surround speakers plus I have a powered subwoofer attached to the side surround speakers. So far, the speakers are wired to the receiver. If I turn the FM on, I can only hear the front speakers (Don't know why the side ones don't work but, maybe due to the fact that regular FM is only 2 channel Stereo? or maybe because I have not set-up the surround settings yet). I am pretty sure all the speaker connections are good including the propper polarity. Now, the problem with the TV is as follows. I get no sound at all from it. I have gone ahead and connected a right and left channel RCA cables to the back area of the TV set where it says "Audio Out". I ran the cables to the back of the receiver where it marked "TV/SAT" and connected them with the right polari