Help!!!!!! Should I still get the Onkyo 650

Anonymous
After reading the posts about the LFE problem with the Onkyo 650 I am having second thoughts about purchasing one. I have read the earlier reviews here and on cnet and the HT 650 seemed like the best system under $500. PLEASE ADVISE, if anyone has any input on this matter, or if you have the 650 and you are having this problem do you still recommend it? Are there other systems that do not have this problem that someone recommends? Please help, I am new to this! Thanks

Anonymous
Does anyone think the Kenwood 505 system is a better option now, considering the LFE problem with the Only 650?

Anonymous
i would still reccommend this system. the only problem is the lfe wont work in dolby digital mode. but i find myself using dts mode mostly while watching movies, and the lfe works fine during dts mode.

Anonymous
I have the 650 and, even without the lfe signal, it is heads and shoulders above the Kenwood. My system seems to have the lfe problem and Onkyo has been contacted. For those of you who are buying, listen to both before buying. The kenwood may be able to reproduce the lfe signal, but what it produces still sounds like crap. The 650 produces superb sound with the subwoofer in "mode 1," whether or not the lfe is truly produced. (In that mode, the sub makes my couch vibrate in LOTR.) The problem remains, however, that the 650 is a "5.1" system that may have problems with the ".1". As a result, even though I am thrilled with the 650, I can no longer recommend it until this problem gets fixed. That does not make the kenwood a viable alternative. I was prepared to do without and save up to get separate components when I thought the Kenwood was the best HTIB out there. Listen before you buy.

John Raymond