Home Theatre HELP!

Username: Superfly133a

Post Number: 1
Hi everyone,

I've always wanted to have a home theatre at home. I'm pretty new to this game I need some advice. I'm looking into building a basic dedicated room for a home theatre, I'm on a limited budget and and always wanted a dedicatet HT.

I just bought a new house, it is being constructed. I really can't dedicate a full basement to a home theatre or split the basement (it would look really odd) Needless to say I was dissapointed. I realized though since I don't use the Garage to park my car I could possibly take half of my Garage and convert it into a home theatre. Now here are my questions, keep in mind my final room will not be that big, tiny actually, approx. 10' wide by 12' long:

1.- What size plasma screen is reccommended for this size room

2.- What kind of soundproofing would I need to put into the walls.

3.- I have 5 speaker Cerwin Vega speakers as well as a subwoofer (i'm very happy with the sound) connected to a non digital Technics amp. Can I replace the amp with a digital one and still use my speakers. Or am I better off buying a home theatre in a box? Any recommends?

4.- I'd like a really nice cozy movie experience. I will be laying down a subfloor is carpet or laminate floor best to put over the subfloor.

5.- Is it worth grtting those sound panels to place in the room, if so how many?

Thanks in advance for reading and I look forward to hearing.. I mean reading what you have to say.

Thanks Again,
John

Bronze Member
Username: Westcott

League City, Texas

Post Number: 12
1) I would really need a dollar figure for a budget to steer you in the right direction and recommend the most cost effetive hardware solution.

2)Standard insulation would work, but a false wall or rigid insulation would work better.

3) You should be able to use your existing speakers if you are on a budget. A new 5.1 or better AV receiver would probably be recommended.