Opinions and answers needed: 2.1 system for <$2500

Ben123456
Unregistered guest
[Please note: topic originally posted in "Speakers" thread but my questions encompass several categories, including receivers, thus posting here as well...]

I want to do some shopping. I'm pretty new at this. If you would like, please help me assemble the following goal!

Goal: assemble a basic 2.1 system for 70/30 music/movies. Surround speakers and nice TV come later; i dont want to buy those right now. i will need to purchase a receiver, nice L/R speakers, a sub, and of course good cables. let's say i want to spend $2000-$2500 for these things. also, consideration for size/carpeting: i'll be moving into a 1000-1200 s.f. apartment next july, prob for at least 2 years there, not sure on exact living room size, but pretty standard i imagine, and carpeted throughout too.

Wants: 1) to spend about $500 for the receiver
2) Sunfire True Subwoofer Super Junior. I'm pretty much set on buying this, i've heard this in stores and in a buddy's house several times, and i like the construction quality and amount of bass it puts out relative to its 9" size. so this will probably end up being $600-$800, depending on how good of a deal i can find.
3) Everything else is unknown, i'm open to all ideas.

Questions: i have many, so feel free to answer one, or all. i appreciate any help and i categorized them below into the diff purchase categories.

A) Speaker-related
i) Like wine, i hear that more expensive speakers are not *always* better. Do you disagree that I should buy from a place that has a 30 day policy or whatever so I can test out of they sound good in my own place? Or do you think that if i spend $700-1000 for a pair of 3-way floorstandings they should pretty good no matter where they are placed?

ii.) Is open-box/demo a bad thing for speakers? (assuming no audible or visible damage) Do speakers have a particular half-life, how quickly do they degrade, if at all? (w/light-to-normal use)