1st Time Setting Up Home Theater - Need Help!

Username: Jhilleary

Post Number: 1
Ok - Newbie here...here's the setup I will be hooking up this week:

Panasonic PT-47WX53 47" Rear Proj. HDTV Monitor
Onkyo HT-S680 6.1 HTiB (HT-R430 Receiver w/ Monster XP Speaker Cable)
Panasonic DVDS35 Prog. Scan DVD Player
Pioneer Explorer HDTV Cable Box

My main question is which cables should I use for each Component to get the best quality? The best I can tell it would be DVI for cable box to TV, component for DVD, and coaxial for audio?

Any advice on hooking this sucker up would be much appreciated. Here's a pic of the receiver:

Upload

Username: Cuylar

MN USA

Post Number: 1
Ok, here's the start. Your video inputs are going to be going to the TV and your audio inputs will be going to the reciever.

Bottom line is that you need to decide what you are going to use the system most for. Are you going to watch TV or DVDs more often? Your HDTV had the ability for surround sound and your DVD player has that ability too. Personally I'd say that your DVD surround sound is more important.

So for starters hook up your speakers to the right plugs in the back.

Hook up the DVI to the cable box to the TV.

Use the red and white audio plug on the cable box and connect to the tv section on your reciever.

Connect the componet video to the dvd player.

Use an optical or digital coax cable to connect the audio to the reciever do the dvd player.

obviously you can connect any other componets to your system in their appropriate places.

now when using this setup you will change the input on the tv and the reciever for whatever you choose to watch.

Post Number: 2
What about S-Video vs. Component Video? Is S-Video better? Is there a way to have the DVD on S-Video and TV on component? Is this the best I can do? Thanks for the input...

MN USA

Post Number: 3
You now have a 47" HDTV.