Need advice for audio and video cable length!

charlesw
Unregistered guest
Newbie here..
I have an av receiver and 5.1 speakers system (local made) for HT (for movies). I bought 2 Anthena AS-B2 bookshelf speakers for music listening as my HT speaker are not good enough for music.
Because of the room design, I cannot place theses bookshelf speakers next to the TV. Currently TV is at the North side of the room together with the two Front speakers of HT system. So I have to place these 2 Bkshlf speakers at the side wall eg. in the East side of the room.

Dvd player is connected to AV reciver with interconnect cables. Each interconnect cables are not more than 1 meter long in both connections.

Here is my problem:
1)If I setup the av receiver/dvd player closed to the 2 bookshelf speakers, I need a long dvd component or S-video/RCA cable to connect the TV from dvd player.(about 10 meters length to connect from East side to North side)

2)If I setup the av receiver/dvd player closed to the TV, I need a long speaker cables to connect the two bookshelf speakers.(about 8 meters length for right speaker and 2 meters for left speaker-connected from North to East)

Please suggest me which connection of the followings is better for minimal signal loss.

a) Using long dvd component cable or S-Video cable?
Or
b)using long speaker cable connection?

Any signal (audio or video) lost or noise may notice with these two cable setups?
Which setup do you recommend?

Do I need to use the same lenght for both L/R bookshelf speakers for music listening?

Thanks.
charlesw

Silver Member
Username: Dmwiley

Post Number: 764
I would use 14 gauge speaker wire and keep the video connections as short as possible. I recommend same length for left & right speakers. There are those who indicate that for relatively short runs, equality of lengths doesn't matter.

Silver Member
Username: Philman

Richmond, IN USA

Post Number: 108