Frustrated Newbie Here-Please Help w/Connections

Username: Raf

Post Number: 2
I am becoming increasingly frustrated by my inability to properly connect my home theater system to my new plasma tv. I thought maybe some of you experienced people may be able to help. Thanks in advance.

Equipment:
New Samsung SP-R4232 42" Plasma EDTV
New Toshiba SD-3980 progressive scan DVD player
Older Yamaha YHT-300 surround sound system
Basic (non-HD) Direct TV satellite receiver
Older Sharp 4 Head VCR

Problems: