Constructively criticize this system

Username: Griffin

Post Number: 2
I've been shopping around for 5.1 speakers and a receiver. I'm a bit of a newbie, but I think I'm close to making a decision. I'd like to run the setup by this board for a final round of advice.

I'm looking at Paradigm speakers. I want this system to be primarily for music listening (mostly hip-hop/jazz/funk and a little of everything else), but I also want it to work well as a home theater. The salesman urged me to invest mostly in the front speakers and the receiver. I live in Manhattan, and my living is room is only 11' x 11'. The walls are solid brick.

This is the deal I'm currently considering:

2 Paradigm Phantoms (shielded)
2 Paradigm Cinema 70s
1 Paradigm CC-170
1 Paradigm PDR-10
NAD 752 Receiver
Cables, wall brackets

This package is $2010. It's a little more than I intended to spend. I don't mind, but I'd prefer not to go any higher. What does everyone think? Would you tweak this setup in anyway? Any comments or things I should consider?

Any input is appreciated.

Silver Member
Username: Hawk

Post Number: 386
Scott:

I think it is an excellent system. I have actually tried several Paradigm speaker sets with my NAD T753 and I happen to think the match is a superb one. Your system seems well balanced for your small and lively room--I don't think I would change a thing (I agree with your salesman that you should invest more in the front mains).

For cables and speaker wire, I recommend you visit www.partsexpress.com where you can find excellent cables under the Dayton Audio and Phoenix Gold brands (I have used both and found them to be very comparable to Monster Cable at 1/3 the cost), and they also have very good OFC speaker wire under the Sound King and Phoenix Gold brands, as well as Monster Cable.

Good luck!

Post Number: 3
Thanks so much for the response, Hawk. I've been reading a lot of your posts on this forum.